Aregbesola in the mud as Gov. Oyetola beats his candidate to wins Osun APC primary poll

Osun State Governor, Gboyega Oyetola emerged the winner of the All Progressives Congress, APC, primary election conducted on Saturday and would be the party’s flag bearer in the coming July 16 governorship election in Osun State.

Two other contesters were former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Lasun Yusuff and a former Secretary to the State Government, Moshood Adeoti.

Announcing the result in the early hours of Sunday at the State’s APC secretariat in Osogbo, Osun APC Primary Election Committee, led by Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq of Kwara State said accredited voters were 247,207, while the total votes cast was 235,550.

Oyetola beat the Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola’s candidate, Adeoti with a wide margin of 222,169 votes to 12921, respectively while Lasun polled 460 votes.

The chairman of the party in Osun State, Prince Gboyega Famodun thanked the Primary Election Committee for, according to him, conducting credible polls.

Leave a Reply